Home TV Shows News The Boys Live-Action Spinoff Series, ‘Varsity’ Officially Begins Filming

The Boys Live-Action Spinoff Series, ‘Varsity’ Officially Begins Filming

The Spinoff Series recently hit a few roadblocks when half of the announced cast left the show one by one before the production commenced

Bradley - Mon, 02 May 2022 22:09:32 +0100 12679 Views
Add to Pocket:

After a long delay and hiccups at the start of the production, The Boys Live-Action Spinoff Series has officially begun filming today (May 2) in Toronto, Canada. Varsity will continue the production for the next four-month to officially wrap on September 01.

Nelson Cragg is directing the pilot episode of the series. Cragg's directing credits include Prime Video horror series Them, Netflix Series Ratched, and Truth Be Told.

Titled ‘Varsity,’ the series was scheduled to begin production in October last year, but the delay in the official greenlit pushed it to 2022. Earlier this year, a couple of announced cast members exited the show, which caused another delay. And just last week, another member left the show, making it three out of six.

Jaz Sinclair as Marie, Aimee Carrero, Lizze Broadway as Emma, Reina Hardesty, Shane Paul McGhie, and Maddie Phillips, were the six actors initially announced when Amazon Studios greenlit the show. Out of the six, Reina Hardesty, Aimee Carrero, and Shane Paul McGhie have exited the show. As per the reports, all the characters played by these three actors are getting redeveloped, while casting is underway (not officially announced, so we are assuming they are yet to be recast).

Varsity is set at America’s only college entirely for young-adult superheroes, Godolkin University (run by Vought International). The Boys Spinoff is an irreverent, R-rated series that explores the lives of hormonal, competitive Supes as they put their physical, sexual, and moral boundaries to the test, trying to compete for the best contracts in the best cities. It’s part college show, part Hunger Games—with all the heart, satire, and humor of The Boys.

Michele Fazekas and Tara Butters are serving as showrunners and executive producers. Eric Kripke, Seth Rogen, Neal H. Moritz, Darick Robertson, James Weaver, Jason Netter, Garth Ennis, Ori Marmur, Pavun Shetty, Evan Goldberg, Ken Levin, and Michaela Starr will serve as executive producers. Serving as co-executive producers for the series are Zak Schwartz and Erica Rosbe.

Amazon Studios and Sony Pictures Television Studios are producing the series, in association with Kripke Enterprises, Point Grey Pictures, and Original Film. Loreli Alanís serves as the executive in charge of Point Grey Pictures.

The highly anticipated ‘The Boys’ Season 3 will premiere on June 3 on Prime Video with the first three episodes. Watch the trailer.



Twitter News Feed


Get all latest content delivered to your email a few times a month.

DMCA.com Protection Status   © Copyrights MOVIESR.NET All rights reserved